Enthusiastic reception in Buenos Aires: after 9,600 kilometres, 13 stages and extreme exertions the Volkswagen drivers Nasser Al-Attiyah and Timo Gottschalk were celebrated as winners of the 2011 Dakar on the podium in the Argentinean capital. It is the first victory in the world’s toughest rally for the duo from Qatar and Neuruppin, Germany. The Volkswagen team celebrated its third consecutive victory since 2009 (Giniel de Villiers/Dirk von Zitzewitz) and 2010 (Carlos Sainz/Lucas Cruz). For the two winners it was the greatest victory in their sporting careers.

In Qatar the victory was celebrated with a loud chorus of car horns. The desert state Emir, Hamid bin Chalifa Al Thani, was one of the first well-wishers who congratulated his most prominent sportsman already by telephone in the final metres approaching the finish line.

Congrats Qatar, another achievement to be proud of.